Translations for Rust

Hey all!

Rust has been growing and growing over the past few years. As we continue to welcome new Rustaceans into the community, we want to continue to extend a friendly welcome. Part of that friendliness is not expecting that everyone speaks English. We've been hesitant to move forward with internationalization/localization efforts for a variety of reasons, but we shouldn't be putting them off much longer.

This is going to be a huge effort, and we want to do it right. I wanted to work up a proposal for how we can get there, but it's really important that we get input from those of you who are interested in working on translations. Ultimately, I'm only an expert in English; it wouldn't be fair for me to declare how you all do your work.

As such, I'd like to propose that we do this in phases:

1. www.rust-lang.org
  2. The Book
  3. API Docs
  4. The compiler

These are roughly listed in order of difficulty and size. Nice when things line up like that. Let's go with each in order:

The Website

This should be the easiest, so I'd like to tackle it first. It should also be the easiest, with only a little bit of work being neccesary. What I'd like to propose is that we take the same approach that Ruby does for www.ruby-lang.org. It is also hosted on GitHub Pages, and seems to work pretty well. Here's the basics:

The homepage detects your language and redirects you to an appropriate sub-URL: www.ruby-lang.org/index.html at master · ruby/www.ruby-lang.org · GitHub

For example, I get redirected to Ruby Programming Language Note that if you don't have JavaScript enabled, you get sent to the English version, so this should be the same as today for that crowd.

Next, for various layouts, all of the information is represented through keys. For example, the Ruby logo says "A programmer's best friend" underneath it. But in the source, it looks like this: www.ruby-lang.org/_layouts/default.html at master · ruby/www.ruby-lang.org · GitHub