Interested in contributing, looking for a mentor

Hi! I’m interested in contributing to rustc. I’d love to connect to someone who could provide suggestions and advice and who I could ask little questions that are best discussed “off the air,” so to speak, to conserve the bandwidth on the public forums.

A short version of what I’m really good at. (Good for?)

• I’m a mathematician and love to teach and mentor undergraduates.
  • Have a very strong computer science background.
  • I caught the language/compiler bug several years ago and have developed a healthy programming languages and compiler fetish balanced by an unhealthy technical book hoarding problem. The silver lining to the latter is that I kick bottom at book recommendations. Let me know if you are looking for a good reference on symbol table design or implementation of functional languages.
  • Interested in PL Theory from the mathematical direction. I feel cheated that I didn’t see lambda calculus as a math/comp sci double major in undergrad and am now making up for lost time. I have been especially interested in order-sorted unification recently.
  • Two decades of C++, Java experience, a decade doing serious Python work.
  • Two decades working with Mathematica—in fact I am recognized as an expert in Mathematica’s syntax and have done some scholarly work in this area. It’s a kind of a strange thing to brag about—it’s more like holding the world record for longest leg hair than it is being the world’s strongest man.
  • Love algorithms and algorithm design.

Personal Trivia: