Shouldn't the book be in a separate repo?

I think that with this separation we could make the book more like the progit2 book and so make it more easy translate it in various languages.

Keeping the book in the source tree makes it easier to ensure that the book is in sync with the language. Right?

Yes, historically this is the reason.

Can you expand on this a little? What makes it not easy to translate right now, and how would a different repository help?

Well, look at how the ProGit 2 ebook has been translated, there is a repo with the English version can be bifurcated for everyone to want to translate it and become the maintainer of this. I can not think of anything simpler than that.

I’m not a git expert but this can be included in the rust repo as a submodule or something like, cannot ?

It’s feasible that the rust repo could depend on a book repo, always building it. A benefit is the PR wouldn’t need to build stage2 to merge doc fixes, and it would also keep the commit history of Rust to code changes.

I’ve occasionally wished to ignore the various typo commits when looking to see what’s new.

1 Like

Yeah, I think a lot of devs would be happy with not seeing commits about the book when looking at the repo historic.

I'm still not sure why forking the main repo doesn't have the same effect. There's also things like git subtree that could help here too.

I'd like to re-iterate that I care a lot about translations, and I want to make it good for us to do so. But at the same time, I also don't want to do the wrong thing, and have to change it again in the future. As another example: moving the book into an external repository does not improve our ability to translate API docs either. I'd like a comprehensive i18n solution, so that non-English resources are first-class.