How do I modify `rustdoc` (the tool run by `cargo doc`)

EDIT: After some discussion, this question is still open, and have its place in this forum.

Note: I am still really new to rust, uncomfortable with the tools used internally by cargo, and the code of rustc in general.

I was trying to implement the RFC that I started to work on. I need to modify how documentation comments are parsed by cargo doc , as well as what is tested by cargo test . I was expecting to have to modify a few lines in rustc , build it with cargo build , then search for the generated binaries and somehow invoke them with cargo doc and cargo test inside a test crate that use the new syntax in the documentation comments that I implemented.

So the first step I did was to the guide to rustc development, especially the chapter on how to build and run.

Witch stage do I need? I only have 43 GB free on my SSD, and I wasn't expecting it to be not enough, but apparently I can't even build the full stage 1. Is stage 0 enough? I think I only need cargo , and rustdoc , so the following should be enough, isn't it?

./x.py build -i --stage 0 src/tools/cargo src/tools/rustdoc

The next step requires to use rustup . I'm on fedora 30, and rustup doesn't seems to be packaged. How do I create my toolchain? And how do I invoke it? Given that I just need to be able to generate the html documentation of a single test file, and rust the test on that file, if it is simpler to just invoke rustc directly, I am totally fine with this. I just don't know what cargo doc nor cargo test do internally.

Do I need to know anything more?

PS - I don't know which tag I should add.

You should post this help query in the Rust users forum. This forum is for discussion of language and compiler enhancements and related issues.

Ah. I was going to post here. Thought I should post in the user forum. Did so. They said I had to post here. Did so. Finally I will post back on the user forum!