`./x.py` with the incremental (`-i`) flags uses unreasonable amount of disk space

I was trying to build rustc and cargo to modify the parsing of the documentation. I have 43GB of free space after a full clone.

./x.py build  --stage 1 src/tools/cargo src/tools/rustdoc 

Consumes around 13 GB of disk space. This is totally fine, and what I was expecting. Obviously it is really slow to run, so I wanted to use the incremental flag for the next changes.

./x.py build  --stage 1 src/tools/cargo src/tools/rustdoc 

It didn't complete, neither from a fresh state (after ./x.py clean) nor after building it a first time without the incremental flag. In both case it consume all my free disk space.

Also, even after building the compiler a first time up to stage 1 without the incremental flag, the second run with incremental flag took ages. It seems to not be re-using what i compiled previously.

What can I do, both in term of disk space and compilation time?

2 Likes

I have no knowledge about anything here, but a feeling that your observations are linked. As far as I understood your observations are:

• Incremental compilation takes more disk space

• Incremental compilation is not sped up by a non-incremental compilation that happened before

I would guess that non-incremental compilation can (and does) delete intermediate stuff that it doesn’t need anymore during compilation (hence needing less space) and that this stuff would be needed to speed up the following incremental re-compilation.

As hinted, just a wild guess.

Edit: This information sounds like I’m not too wrong.

Edit2: My directory after incrementally building cargo and rustdoc on stage 1 is “only” about 18GB.

Edit3: I just compiled again, now with assertions and debug on and I am getting 44.5GB size.

1 Like

Also see this recent discussion on Zulip.

Thanks. It was the debuginfo that was eating all the space. I set debug=false in config.toml, and I was able to get a stage 1!

1 Like