A handy browser extension to search crates and official docs in address bar (omnibox)

Hi, I'm a Rust developer from China, I'm so excited to share my Chrome extension to help Rustaceans search docs and crates in address bar quickly. Here is the extension project at Github https://github.com/Folyd/rust-search-extension.

I didn't publish it to Chrome Webstore yet as I think it's would be better to publish in the name of the Rust team. What do you think, I'd love to transfer the project to the rust-lang-nursery organization. :grinning:

Here is the demonstration gif:

5 Likes

Currently, it only supports search stable version docs, the nightly version will be supported soon.

Very nice! :slight_smile: A few things:

• I’d like to try it but have no idea how to install it if it’s not on the Chrome Web Store. It would be awesome if you could add a little explanation how to add the extension from GitHub.

• Feel free to upload it to the Chrome Web Store already. Usually projects need to exist for some time before the rust-lang-nursery accepts them. Many crucial parts of our eco-system are not from the official Rust team and that’s not a problem.

• Since I didn’t try it yet, this feature might already exist, but it would be awesome to also use the local documentation (rustup docs). Loading local files is still significantly faster than through the internet. Personally, right now, I have several search prefixes for my Chrome. rs searches my local stable documentation, rsw searches the online stable documentation, rsn searches my local nightly documentation, and so on. Would be awesome if your extension would allow for multiple of those search prefixes, too.

1 Like

Thanks for replying.

Sure, I can publish the extension to Chrome Web Store in the name of myself. If the Rust team accept the project transfer to rust-lang-nursery, we can publish it again in the name of the Rust team and I’ll unpublish my one.