std::net::Ipv4Addr in core?

I'm an embedded developer so I don't have access to std. Could we move std::net::Ipv4 to core?

2 Likes

No, Ipv4Addr internally contains a C struct representing the address in the same way the native OS does. libcore however is meant to be OS independent and as such doesnt have access to libc.

1 Like

Having Ipv4Addr wrap in_addr isn't entirely necessary, you can have Ipv4Addr contain an OS-agnostic data format and translate this back and forth into the OS specific structure as needed. At least for IPv4 I would not expect this to result in any measurable performance impact, at worst it will be an endianness translation. For IPv6 there may be more of an impact since it will be 16-bytes that need to be swapped around, but still compared to anything else related to networking this should be a trivial cost.

I have a branch actually implementing this (along with moving SocketAddr as their parsers are intertwined) from months ago, I haven't pushed it to github yet, and if I remember correctly I had one endianness conversion missing somewhere that was making the tests fail. I'm not sure if I'll get back to working on it again, but I'll try to push it up so that if others want to they can take the work I've done so far.

4 Likes

OK, it wasn't clear to me that all those convenience functions were OS specific.

Since "IOT" is a thing it definitely makes sense for me to make part of the net module accessible for embedded projects.

Are there any cases where the OS-specific data format varies by OS on the target architecture? Or do all OSes for a given target architecture share the same storage format for IP addresses? If the latter, couldn't we go ahead and store the address in the format that requires no translation (e.g. little-endian or big-endian as appropriate)?

2 Likes