Rust 2019 -- Correctness and stabilizations

Last year for Rust 2018 I didn’t write a post like this, hoping to see other people write it. But even with a hundred plus posts that didn’t happen, so this year it’s the moment to speak up.

I have used many different languages in past and when I started studying Rust at version 1.0 I was quickly impressed by its very good design, I was mostly in agreement with most of its design decisions, despite every useful language has a messy implementation. Even small things were designed with care. And I loved how much Rust cares for code correctness. I prefer to avoid long debug sessions and to use more time in the design and coding phases. So I’ve kept learning and using it ever since.

For 2019 and beyond I’d like Rust to keep working on finishing its many unfinished parts. There are lot of unstable features that should be stabilized or modified (or perhaps even closed for now). Keeping features unstable for several years risks making them more like Haskell Language Extensions. Haskell was born to be a testbed for language research, so having lots of implementation-defined Language Extensions could be acceptable for it, but for a more practical language as Rust having features like “slice_patterns” unstable for years is a problem, in my opinion. I now have a ton of code that uses slice_patterns on Nightly, but I don’t know if and how it will keep working.