Pre-RFC: std::string::String::replace_and_count

Summary

This is a pre-RFC for a replace_and_count function in addition to the replace function for strings. I have, more than one occasion, wanted to check the number of replacements, usually to validate number_of_replacements > 0, in which I currently separately check for the existence of the searched string.

It is rather easy to adapt the replace source code for doing this yourself, which I plan to do for my use case, but I also wanted to ask if it makes sense to add a replace_and_count function to the String type.

This is my first time proposing any feature, so if there are any problems with my post, please notify me and I'll be more careful.

It's a one-liner to call matches and get the count (playground). Why modify replace when there's a lightweight way of solving this?

That would search for matches twice, rather than once.

5 Likes

In most cases to specifically check whether there are any matches, you can do s.matches(…).next().is_some() before the replace to avoid going through the whole string twice.

A more general alternative could be a str::replace_with method that takes an FnMut that’s called for each match to determine the replacement.

6 Likes

That could still(worst case behavior) traverse the string twice in the event that there is a match though, right?

Seems like the problem with replace_with could be the performance hit if it's not inlined.

2 Likes

Yes, good point about the worst case.

I would presume a hypothetical replace_with method to be inlined and optimized to remove essentially all overhead, like Iterator methods are, among others.

4 Likes

replace_with is certainly general enough, but using it for this purpose would require something like:

let mut count = 0;
let replaced = some_str.replace_with("pattern", |something| { count += 1; "replacement" });

For the proposed use case, this seems like a substantially more cumbersome solution.