[Pre-RFC] named arguments

This is my first attempt at an RFC, any feedback is welcome :slight_smile:

Keyword arguments have been proposed multiple times in multiple forms in the past and had been postponed for after the 1.0 release. 1.0 has been released and things have settled a bit, so I thought it would be a good time to jump-start the discussions more actively again.

Let me know if some parts need more clarification / details.

Relevant discussions

• Feature Name: named_arguments
  • Start Date: 2016-08-07
  • RFC PR: (leave this empty)
  • Rust Issue: (leave this empty)

Summary

This RFC adds named arguments to Rust. It focuses only on named arguments and not on default arguments or variable-arity which are more complex to implement and delicate to get right.

Motivation

Rust strives to be maintainable for large code bases. named arguments would allow some function calls to be more explicit and thus easier to read and write.

Let’s consider the following fictive examples:

http.get("https://www.rust-lang.org/en-US/", None);

Window::new("Title", 20, 50, 500, 250);

free_fall(100.0, 0.0, 9.81);

Those are all functions / methods that I could see written in Rust. When calling those functions you have to remember the order in which the arguments appear. And at first sight, you can not really tell what the arguments stand for.

Now let’s consider calling the same functions with named arguments:

http.get("https://www.rust-lang.org/en-US/", timeout: None);

Window::new(title: "Title", x: 20, y: 50, width: 500, height: 250);

free_fall(z0: 100.0, v0: 0.0, g: 9.81);

It is now very clear what the arguments stand for, which makes maintaining such code a little easier.

Detailed design

The main goals of this RFC are:

1. Make it backwards compatible
  2. Make it future proof
  3. Give API authors the ability to choose if the name of the arguments are part of the API or not

API authors are in control