Pre-RFC: make function arguments for Option-typed arguments

This is my first attempt at participating in the language design process. Hope I’m doing it right – meta-feedback welcome!

Motivation

• Making the simple things easy, but the hard things possible
  • Allowing evolution of APIs with source compatibility
  • Bite off one piece of the optional + default + named arguments improvements
  • Lots of people want it

Proposed solution

fn adder(x: int, b: Option<int>) -> int {
    x + b.unwrap_or(1)
}
fn main() {
    println!("added {}", adder(5));
}

The compiler will fill in None for any omitted function parameters if and only if they are of type Option. This nicely complements impl From<T> for Option<T>.

Drawbacks

• Default values have to be specified in the function, at the cost of slightly more code there. This seems like an acceptable cost given the limited weight (in terms of ergonomics) of making this change.
  • Makes the None arguments implicit, which makes it slightly harder to see what’s going on.

Alternatives

• Default arguments (fn adder(x: int, b: int=1) -> int) require a bunch of syntax changes. We would need to impose more restrictions (only allow statics has been thrown around in the past), and the syntax looks kind of ugly in my mind, because there’s not really a natural order from name to type and value.
  • Builder APIs (requires no changes) can be used. However, I’d argue that for many uses this is much more wordy, and requires more work in looking up the proper API calls. Also, I’m guessing it would perform worse at a micro-level, given the amount of function calls.

Unresolved issues

• There might be some interaction with named arguments in the future. To me, this proposal seems like a clean first improvement that will most likely not make named arguments harder, and hopefully makes it easier, so I thought I’d raise this pre-RFC for optional arguments only.
  • Undoubtedly others can come up with more!

Further reading