ML Workshop 2021 (Virtual): call for presentations

Hi internals,

I would like to relay the Call for Presentations of the ML workshop 2021 -- as was done a few years ago for the 2018 edition. The ML workshop is a yearly research-oriented workshop that is dedicated to the family of ML languages (OCaml, SML, F#, Haskell...) but also, in a larger sense, to design discussion across languages that share a goal for elegance, expressivity, and rigor -- Scala and Rust have been discussed at the ML workshop before, with a presentation of Rust by Felix Klock and Nicholas Matsakis at the ML workshop 2014. If you want to get an idea of what the ML workshop typically looks like, here is the program of the previous year. I know that several research groups interested in Rust verification typically present, review or hang around the ML workshop -- this a Rust-friendly, Rust-engaged community.

This call for presentation is in particular relevant to people working on the design of some aspects of Rust. If you have a well-defined design problem that you have been working with, and a clear description of the solution you propose, and you think this might interest other language designers, this is a perfect fit for a presentation at the ML workshop. If you have a problem and a solution in mind but they are not well-defined and clear yet, the act of writing an extended abstract to submit to the workshop could help you get there!

The typical submission format is a three-page PDF, often produced using LaTeX (LibreOffice also works). The proposal is reviewed and evaluated, and those that get accepted are invited to present at the workshop. For more details on the work and its submission process, see the workshop website. The selection committee this year is the following -- including in particular Naoki Kobayashi, who recently wrote a paper about Rust verification:

  • Danel Ahman (University of Ljubljana)
  • Robert Atkey (University of Strathclyde)
  • Frédéric Bour (Tarides)
  • Ezgi Çiçek (Facebook London)
  • Youyou Cong (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
  • Richard A. Eisenberg (Tweag I/O)
  • Martin Elsman (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Ohad Kammar (University of Edinburgh)
  • Naoki Kobayashi (University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Benoît Montagu (Inria)
  • Jonathan Protzenko (Microsoft Research) (Chair)
  • Kristina Sojakova (INRIA Paris)
  • Don Syme (Microsoft)
  • Matías Toro (University of Chile)
  • Katsuhiro Ueno (Tohoku University)

I am the organizer of this year's workshop. Feel free to ask any question, here or privately (

1 Like