Matrix type

Does rust have a matrix type ? If yes how do we implement it ? Or can we define it like in C ?

There's no built-in matrix type, but nalgebra and ndarray are commonly used, and there are more options out there for different niches as well.

7 Likes

Thanks for this !! But is there any reason rust did not allow the creation of a matrix like cpp or python ?

Rust has [[f32; 4]; 4], which is exactly as much of a built-in matrix type as C++ has.

(Well, excluding valarray, which as far as I can tell nobody ever uses.)

3 Likes

You might also recognize ndarray as being similar to numpy.ndarray, but that's not built-in to Python either.

4 Likes

Thanks alot for the help. I'm quite new to rust and have not been able to find this solution anywhere in he documentation. Is there any source I can refer to for these kinds of things ?

For these kinds of problems (the standard library does not contain this functionality, so are there crates I could use instead) you can always consult the Rust Cookbook.

It even has a page about linear algebra and thus matrices:

I searched for "rust matrix library" and nalgebra was the first result.

Lib.rs also has pretty good library discovery and search.

3 Likes

This thread probably should have been on the users forum, since it's about using Rust.

Specifically, let matrix: [[f32: 4]; 4] in Rust is essentially std::array<std::array<float, 4>, 4> matrix in C++ or float matrix[4][4] in C.

This is generic type composition. The array type syntax [T; N] represents a family of types, with T being any type and N being any unsigned integer. So the "trick" is to make an array of an arrays. You can do the same thing with the other arrayish types as well (slices &[&[f32]], vectors Vec<Vec<f32>>), or even mix them (e.g. &[Vec<[f32; 4]>]).

That's why there isn't really documentation on two dimensional arrays/slices/vectors – they aren't in any way interesting; they're just composed types.

5 Likes