Is magic method indexing Tuples an anti-pattern?

Why aren't tuples indexed as heterogeneous slices? I find method chaining digits confusing (I am relatively new to Rust).

This should be asked on users.rust-lang.org, internals is for changes to the Rust language, and questions about the Rust compiler internals.

To answer your question: tuples are more like anonymous structs than a collection. So it doesn't make sense to index a tuple any more than it makes sense to index a struct.

4 Likes

Here are some reasons that indexing doesn't work for tuples in Rust:

fn foo(tuple: (u8, u32), n: usize) {
    let x = tuple[n]; // what is the type of `x`?
}
impl std::ops::Index<usize> for (u8, u32) {
    type Output = ???; // what to put here?

fn index(&self, n: usize) -> Self::Output {
        todo!()
   }
}
10 Likes

Thank you that makes sense. I was thinking positionally.

I am now here:

I do believe indexing and slicing with tuples could still be useful with const generics. For this purpose I don't think the dot-index syntax would work, since you'd have to access a (compile-time) constant, not a name.

E.g., something like the C++ get function for tuples:

// Assumes 'Tuple' trait, just for clarification.
const fn get<T: Tuple, const I: usize>(t: T) -> T[I] {  // I-th type in the tuple
    t[I]                                                // I-th member of the tuple
}
4 Likes

...in addition to variardic generics ? e.g.

• variardics would process each element of a tuple using a plymorphic fn + a special map! built-in
  • indexing would provide access to a single tuple member by number?

I guess after harmonization with the proposed "variardic" syntax the `get` function would be spelled:
// ... is a splice operator that turns a tuple type into a list of types
// (...T) is tuple type T spliced and wrapped back into a tuple, e.g. equals T
// yet using (...T) in a generic parameter position communicates the constraint that T is a tuple type