Should Fn(Mut) arguments be always accepted by move/ownership?

Let's take a look at Iterator::filter. It doesn't store the predicate argument, but it needs to mutably called it, so it should take it by mutable reference, like this: predicate: &mut P, but instead, it takes it by movement of ownership!

EDIT: filter actually needs to take ownership here, because it's lazy and you can return the filtered iterator to elsewhere without consuming it immidietely, so you actually need to be able to store the predicate. A better example to illustrate my point would be Vec::retain, which is eager, and doesn't need to store the predicate, so it shouldn't need to take it by value.

This happens to work, because &mut FnMut implements FnMut with the same generics, but it seems non-idiomatic. So what could be the possible reasons?

Possible reason 1: Performance

I'm no expert on how compiler optimizations work, but let's imagine a simple call like this: .filter(|item| {*item >= 0}). Since the FnMut doesn't close over any variables, it is a normal lambda function (not a closure) with size 0, so moving it into the filter function will be a no-op.

But passing it as a &mut reference would require to pass a reference to an empty unit struct, which might get optimized to no-op by the compiler if it is smart enough, but it might also not (AFAIK).

Possible reason 2: Ergonomics

1. You don't have to bother with the &mut borrow, writing .filter(|item| { ... }) is slightly more convenient than writing .filter(&mut |item| { ... }).
  2. You don't have to annotate the arguments, because the .filter(&mut |item| { ... }) syntax doesn't actually work. The compiler cannot infer the types, so you have to manually annotate it (e.g. .filter(&mut |item: *i32| { ... })) with the correct amount of *s.

Possible reason 3: Lifetime annotation