Replace array bounds checking with modulo?

So I’m a newbie with rust, but quite an experienced programmer otherwise (most experienced in c++).

I really like what I’ve seen about Rust, and have been doing some exploration.

I was looking through rust_doom for a starting point for getting some actual concrete stuff up and running with Rust, and came across a comment in this source file which made me stop and think.

// Sorry for the messy/unsafe code, but the array bounds checks in this
    // tight loop make it 6x slower.

The thing is that a big trend for me in my work has been to move away from iterators in data representations and use simple indices instead.

The context for this is PathEngine, where we do a lot of stuff with mesh data structures. And I’ve written a bit about this subject on my blog, in this series of posts.

Many years ago our meshes started out as being ‘list like’, so with pointers for access to individual mesh elements, and these pointers then wrapped up in iterators.

Since then we’ve moved from list-like to vector like, so with contiguous buffers replacing lots of small allocations (and memory fragmentation), but also with simple indices replacing iterators.

Some advantages of simple integer indices for this kind of stuff is that:

• data structures are relocatable, and can be saved and loaded directly to/from memory (or moved around memory) very easily
  • integer indices are more compact than iterators
  • integer indices can easily refer to more than one data structure in parallel (so we can have multiple, independant, data channels for stuff like mesh face attributes, and use the same integer indices across these multiple data channels)

As well as looking up mesh related data, indices are also used for traversing around the mesh, e.g. looing up edges in a face and neighbouring faces across those edges, and this has to be very fast.