Proposal for Custom Test Framework support

I’m an intern on the rust team working on custom test framework support in rustc.

I’ve written up my proposal: https://blog.jrenner.net/rust/testing/2018/08/06/custom-test-framework-prop.html

Which is currently implemented in this PR:

Any and all feedback would be much appreciated!

6 Likes

First off, thanks for working on this! I really appreciate anything that pushes testing forward :blush:

I have some feedback: I might be just not familiar enough with how testing frameworks are currently built on Rust, but when I read your post I don’t quite understand how you’d do something like this:

1. Have an idea for a testing procedure. (e.g.: quickcheck ~> I want to generate cases, run them against the test, and any failing ones get reduced according to some transformation until they become minimized cases).
  2. Implement that idea with this new tooling. (e.g.: quickcheck ~> how do I ensure I can generate cases, how do I get access to the test function, and then how do I take a reducing transformation from the user and make minimized cases?).

Sorry if this is too obvious, but I’m really not at all familiar with the underpinnings here :sweat_smile: but I also really want to understand how this will look like for testing frameworks in the future :slightly_smiling_face:

I don’t want to bikeshed this too hard, but I’m a little worried that the choice of test-runner is a crate-attribute, since that implies different crates can and will use different test-runners. I expect there’ll wind up being half a dozen or so competing test-runners, each with different feature sets, and there’ll be one particular one I like best - perhaps it summarizes results in a way I find easy to comprehend at a glance, maybe it produces machine-readable output in a format I can use with other tools, maybe it uses debug info to provide richer diagnostics than the standard test-runner interface would allow.