Pre-RFC: Thinness as a property of the data rather than the trait

I think that the discussion happening in the topic about Extended enums and thin traits blog post should get its own discussion thread to not high-jack the attention of a blog post which also talks about several other interesting topics. I feel like this discussion may end up in a rfc (I am new to this process), or maybe not, let me know.

Thin traits constitute a useful optimization tool. A pointer to a trait in rust today (&Trait, Box, etc.) are fat pointers which means they are actually double-pointers (one to the object and a one to its vtable). In some cases, the memory overhead of storing fat pointers can be problematic.

In order to have thin pointers to a trait object, we must have the guarantee that the actual structure that implements the trait starts with a vtable pointer (Ă  la C++). This all has already been very well explained by aturon, nmatsakis and others so I won't go through that again here, but I wanted to draw some attention on two things:

• Thin pointers are actually a property of the data (struct and pointer) and not the trait.
  • Thin pointers are motivated by optimizations focused on memory overhead/layout (so again, data and not traits).

I think that rust needs thin pointers, however I have a few issues with the current direction they are taking, namely:

• Thinness is expressed on the trait instead of the data (struct and pointer)
  • The memory layout of a structure is implicitly modified by whether or not the structure implements a trait that is marked as thin.
  • The decision of the thinness of a pointer to a trait is made by the person who declares the trait rather than the user of the trait, even though thin pointers are an optimization that is useful to the user of the trait.
  • Somewhat less important to me, one can't have thin and fat pointer to the same trait, which is an artificial limitation of making thinness a property of the trait.