Pre-RFC: Add compiler warning for possible value truncation

It would be nice if Rust compiler warns me when an assigned floating point value would be truncated and lose its precision.

I believe this could be easily detected and warned during compile time.

Does anyone wants to work together with me on this request?

Attaching a screen shot from a recent course I took, which shows the possible truncation.

I am new to Rust and had high hopes for Rust with respect to memory management, and wish I don't have to run a separate static analyzer to find such truncation issues.

Also I understand that the example is only for compile time, and such issues may happen during run time assignment too. I also wish there was a graceful handling of such truncations in the form of internal logging or inbuilt exception handling.

I don't know if this is too "separate" for you, but clippy has the style lint excessive_precision for this. Fundamentally though, Rust doesn't change the fact that floating point is lossy -- even something simple like 0.1 will lose precision, not exactly 1/10.

6 Likes

For floating point literals, yes - you can detect that there's excessive precision, as per the clippy lint @cuviper pointed out. Note that this doesn't tell you about all truncation - only about cases where you have decimal digits that cannot affect the binary floating point value. It won't, for example, tell you that 0.51 is truncated when converted to binary form.

This, however, is going to get really challenging really quickly; the reason we have floating point is that we want to approximate the real numbers. The set of real numbers is an infinite set, so mapping it into 232 (f32) or 264 (f64) possible values is impossible; instead, Rust uses the IEEE-754 floating point rules to define how we approximate all possible real numbers in a floating point value.