My wish list for Rust 2024 and beyond

I'm going to share with you a wish list of things I'd like to see happen in the rust language edition 2024 and +.

I've been programming for more than 17 years (or much longer, if counting my very early beginnings),

I worked mainly with these languages (I'll only mention the ones I've used a lot):

in this order : Basic > Cobol > QBasic > PureBasic > VB > Fortran > C > C++ > ASM (x32/x86-64) > C# > Javascript > Java > Sql/PLSql > Python > Groovy > Typescript > Go > MQL4/5 > ZIG > Rust

I'm not going to count HTML, CSS/SASS, shell languages, etc...

I'll just write down what comes to mind, and I'll add more ideas to this post whenever I remember a feature.

Each language has its advantages and disadvantages, and what I'd like Rust to do is incorporate some of the strengths of each of these languages :

Basic

• goto ( just kidding :laughing: )
  • nothing really striking here

Cobol

C

• more freedom with Unsafe
  • ternary expression (I know there's been a debate on this subject)
  • generate a definition file ( like .h) and compile the implementation ( for those who want to share proprietary libraries without disclosing the source code )

C++

• operator overloading
  • inheritance (inherited only the fields of the structure, without the implementation)

Java

• enrich Macros to bring them closer to the way Annotations work (ex: annotations in function arguments)
  • allow Macros to determine type, rather than acting as a simple text parser
  • Wildcards
  • Reflection : I know it's difficult for a language without GC, but at least simulate it by adding Metadata as needed.
  • the same function name but with different parameters ( I know it's difficult for the static link, but make it possible only for non-external functions.)
  • provide the essential features needed to power enterprise frameworks that can compete with Spring/Quarkus, for example.

Go

• compiler speed
  • rich standard library

Typescript