Making Rust usable on a rootless, out of the box Linux/macOS system (no system linker)

This may be a rather niche issue, but as an undergrad I had quite a few run-ins with systems on which I have no permission to use the package manager. Normally gcc is installed on Linux, though sometimes not (it's not a default package on most distros). On macOS, the build tools are generally not available and I have no permission to run xcode-select --install.

For most software and language ecosystems, if I can't use the package manager, that's it, there's little hope to get it running. But Rust is so close to runnable it's more frustrating when it doesn't: rustup, Cargo and rustc are all standalone executables with no external library dependencies, they are installable and runnable on a brand new install of Ubuntu/Debian/Fedora/macOS as a non-priviliged user except the system linker invoked through cc, for which one has to install with root privilege. You can't even "just" compile a copy of gcc or clang because you have no compiler (not to mention their other dependencies)!

It would be really nice to be able to compile Rust program on a completely clean install of Linux or macOS, as this should be currently possible unlike on Windows. AFAIK unless cross-compiling, pure-Rust programs don't need any header files or dynamic libraries that isn't shipped by default with standard Linux distros or macOS.

zig cc is a workaround, but in my testing it still breaks when supplied with certain flags (I wasn't able to build any dependencies with proc macros on macOS, for example).

I don't know what is needed to reach the above goal, but I imagine this involves shipping a copy of lld through rustup like we currently do on Windows, and make this usable through -Clinker=lld (but not -Clink-arg=-fuse-ld=lld as we don't have cc).

5 Likes