Is it worth putting an attribute on `unwrap()` family of functions?

Disclaimer: please forgive my ignorance if I miss something. I’m not experienced with Rust yet.

Today, it’s common to find code like

extern crate term;

fn main() {
    let mut t = term::stdout().unwrap();

t.fg(term::color::GREEN).unwrap();
    (write!(t, "hello, ")).unwrap();

t.fg(term::color::RED).unwrap();
    (writeln!(t, "world!")).unwrap();

t.reset().unwrap();
}

As one might learn pretty quickly, unwrap()ing a None returned by term::stdout() will lead to failure of task. This is, of course, specified in docs. But it’s certainly not obvious that this is not a “safe” operation — it may lead to “crash”. Not “hard” crash, because it will be handled by Rust runtime. It produces error about unwrapping None. But it’s a crash nevertheless. And it happens due to several reasons:

1. Absence of warnings from compiler that .unwrap() is essentially a pattern match w/o “catch-all” case. We do get warnings when not all variants of enum are handled, so why skip it here?
  2. Usage in official documentation — in example code like that of term. Conditions programmer to accept it as something normal.

Let’s face it — unwrap() of Option<_> is awful hack. It’s convenient, I know — but it’s the sort of convenience we disdain JavaScript and PHP for. I also understand that one is extremely likely to use unwrap() in closures because “heck, I only need to filter/map/reduce stuff, I don’t want my closure to spend 5 lines!”. Programmer uses it there and then forgets about it. Voila — safety is needlessly violated.

I think a programmer should be forced to actively discard any failure condition. It makes for explicit decision making about not handling an error.