Discussion: Adding grammar information to Procedural Macros for proper custom syntax support in the toolchain

I am writing this post here on the Internals Forum in order to start a discussion on the matter as well as gather more information. I'm not a toolchain developer or a member of any of the Working Groups, so I have little knowledge on whether this is something that is actively being worked on. The latest semi-relevant discussion on the forum was, as far as I am aware, here, but perhaps I have missed something. In my eyes we lack a good place to discuss this.

Problem and use cases

The reason why I would like this to be discussed here is multifaceted. The lack of grammar information in proc macros affects many areas of the toolchain, and there have been isolated attempts at bringing this up in projects like rust-analyzer and rustfmt, but what I believe we need is a unified interface that both of these projects - and any other that would benefit - can use. I will focus on these two purely because that's as far as my knowledge on the topic can reach.

This is neither the responsibility of an IDE integration nor any formatting tool. If rust-analyzer were to implement something like this for its purposes, rustfmt would need to have its own implementation, due to rustfmt not being dependent on the other. The rustfmt developer team also understandably has little interest in implementing this themselves. It's a heavy effort that is outside the scope of the project.