Closure: `value` moved, why `mut` needed?

fn main() {
    // `value` moved, why `mut` needed?
    let mut value = 0;
    // removing `mut` doesn't compile.

let mut closure = move || {
        value += 1;
        println!("{}", value);
    };
    closure(); // 1
    closure(); // 2
    println!("{}", value); // 0
}
1 Like

I am no expert but probably because in the context that it is moved to it is mutated.

Because there's no other place to put mut on, and value binding is mutated.

8 Likes

Calling this closure mutates its captured environment, so calling it requires the FnMut trait, which takes a mutable reference to the closure itself. (The environment is stored within the closure value.)

2 Likes

That explains why closure needs to be marked mutable, but not why value needs to be marked mutable. But @kornel already answered that question.

Also see https://users.rust-lang.org/t/mut-binding-required-to-mutate-move-captured-var-in-a-closure/26825

I agree that requiring that the captured variable be mut makes no sense, although mut bindings in general are just a glorified-by-the-language lint, so it being required in a place where it should not is not that bad. But definitely an inconsitency of the language.

The rule should be that variables captured by a closure are always mut-bound, following anonymous bindings rules:

fn main ()
{
    let x = ::scopeguard::guard(27, |x| { dbg!(x); });
    *{x} += 42; // anonymous binding in `{x}` expression
}

That being said, it would remove the possibility for the programmer to state when captured variables / bindings should not be mutated1.

So it ends up being a case where the inconsistency gives programmers more "expressiveness", leading to a "it could be worse" accepted status quo.

1 at least for a FnMut closure: in the case of a FnOnce closure, bindings can be rebound within the body of the functionn so their mut-lint-ability can be changed / specified there.

3 Likes