Automatic Differentiation/Differential Programming Support

This is an attempt to reopen the discussion set by Native Differential Programming Support for Rust by @ karanchahal

As a deep learning scientist, I see that there has been efforts to integrate automatic differentiation in Rust Pre-RFC: Differential programming support

There's some papers that allow the assembly code to be differentiable https://www.researchgate.net/publication/255738710_Automatic_Differentiation_of_Assembler_Code but what we want is the emitted LLVM code to be differentiable instead.

Some C++ folks has done this https://llvm.org/devmtg/2013-11/slides/Vassilev-Poster.pdf and https://github.com/vgvassilev/clad. Is this a continued interest in the community if so who else is working on this?

2 Likes

This still should be at least prototyped as a library if you have a concrete idea based on those research papers. To me adding this as a language feature is dubious at best, as it targets a very narrow field and it's not clear that the benefits outweigh the complexity. Meanwhile Rust has excellent metaprogramming capabilities that allow for easy and sophisticated construction of EDSLs with any desirable properties domain experts need.

5 Likes

My memory of those previous discussions and is that "why shouldn't this be a crate?" never actually got a meaningful response, and the blog posts I've read about Swift's implementation never mentioned anything that would require this to be a core language feature in Rust, or even benefit from it being a core language feature. I don't know Swift that well but I got the pretty strong impression that it just doesn't have as powerful metaprogramming as Rust does. Even one of the posts you linked to is literally arguing that there's no reason this couldn't be done in a crate.

Someone just needs to actually write a crate for this.

11 Likes