Newcomer to Rust: my experience

Good afternoon and happy easter,

I am a newcomer to Rust and recently finished working through your tutorial. Before I get too much further into reading the standard library, I wanted to share my experience as a complete Rust newbie starting out only with your documentation, before I forget it. I regret that I did not start taking notes immediately, but it was not yet clear to me how much I was going to like Rust, so a lot of this will be me recalling my experience, without notes.

First, my background. I’ve been programming in C++ for 20 years and used MLton (Standard ML) heavily for about 5 years, 4 years ago. I have dabbled with Haskell, but not seriously. So, as far as beginners to Rust go, I suspect I would be the sort of person who should definitely have been able to go through your tutorial and come out at the other end with a clear mental model of the language, as I’ve been exposed to almost all of the concepts before.

1- I had heard about Rust through the odd talk at ML workshops via youtube, although the last ML workshop I attended in person was ~6 years ago. The main thing that raised Rust to my attention was your v1.0 release which was mentioned on Slashdot. A few days ago, I saw a comment posted somewhere that reminded me about it and contained these two keywords: functional + no-GC. That got me interested enough to head over to your main page.

2- I really liked how on the front page there was a feature list that summarised what I could expect from the language. I was surprised not to see a bullet point reaffirming that there was no garbage collector necessary. I then started reading the Rust tutorial “book” in order.